We intend to open school on Monday 19th March as long as conditions remain unchanged. Stick to gritted paths and wear sensible footwear. Take care journeying to school as ice and frost are forecast. Be safe everyone!


Commonwealth Day 2018

March 12th, 2018

Millbrook Mini Police/Heddlu Bach took part in Newport City Council’s Fly a flag for the Commonwealth ceremony as part of the 2018 Commonwealth Day celebrations. Together with Heddlu Bach from Ringland and Pillgwenlly Primary Schools the children formed a guard of honour as a police cadet raised the Commonwealth Flag.


Happy Mother’s Day 2018 to all the amazing mums, grandmothers and carers in The Millbrook School Community.

We are very proud of our diverse school community. We strive to celebrate the different cultures, languages and religions in our school. It was great to see many of our students wearing their traditional costumes to school this week sharing their cultures with everyone else as well as celebrating Wales. Thank you all.

The whole school was a sea of red this week as we celebrated a belated St David’s Day (postponed due to the snow). Our children demonstrated the amazing talent that they have in a performance of poem, song, drama and dance. Competition winners were announced and scores added culminating in Ty Ruby winning the 2018 Eisteddfod. Llongyfarchiadau!

We were also proud to chair the 2018 Bard of our Eisteddfod – Emilee Elliott! Llongyfarchiadau Emilee! We are very proud of you. An outstanding winning poem. Da iawn.


Millbrook will be open on Monday 5th March 2018. Entry is currently via the main steps and parking is  currently off site. Wrap up warm and wear appropriate footwear. We can’t wait to see everyone and learn all about your adventures in the snow!


Due to adverse weather & poor site conditions the decision has been made to close school on Thursday 1st March & Friday 2nd March. Apologies for any inconvenience. The school Eisteddfod will be re-scheduled.

Be safe everyone.

The Governing Body of Millbrook Primary School are pleased to publish their annual report to parents. As Governors of the school we would like to thank all parents and the wider community for the fantastic support that you give to our wonderful school. The report is available via the attached link. If parents would like a hard copy of the report then please let the school office know. Nadolig Llawen!

Mark Price Chair of Governors


Climate Action at Millbrook

December 18th, 2017

Millbrook Primary has worked with The United Nations to calculate its carbon footprint. Our global ambassadors have helped to raise awareness of the impact of using energy on climate change. As a result of the children’s work we have signed a pledge to reduce our carbon footprint. The school has offset its carbon usage and has been awarded a certificate by The United Nations. Well done everyone! This is a great example of our work to teach the whole community about the Global Goals.




We are very proud of our children for bringing Christmas cheer to our community. This began last week with carol singing at Bettws shops. The children also enjoyed performing carols at Willowbrook Nursing Home.



Welsh translation of our website
Polish translation of our website
Spanish translation of our website


Dates For Your Diary


Monday 5th March & Tuesday 6th March – KS2 parent consultations

Tuesday 6th March – Palm class trip to Cardiff museum

Wednesday 7th March – Beech class trip to St Fagans

Friday 9th March – rescheduled Eisteddfod – wear home culture outfits to school

Monday 12th March – Mini Police reps at Commonwealth event

Tuesday 13th March – Silver Birch trip to Wastesavers

Monday 19th March & Tuesday 20th March – Foundation Phase Parent Consultations

Monday 19th March – Fflic a Fflac Welsh show for Infants & mini police filming event on cyber safety

Thursday 29th March – Break up for Easter holidays

Friday 30th March – Friday 13th April – EASTER HOLIDAYS

Monday 16th April – Back to school

Tuesday 17th April – Fun into Food Day

Friday 20th April – Y6 workshop on the work of The Senedd

Friday 27th April – Y6 trip to The Senedd; Families Connect workshops starts

Wednesday 2nd May – Wednesday 9th May – NATIONAL TESTS for all pupil in Y2-Y6

Friday 18th May –  SPORTS DAY am Junior Sports, pm Infant sports.

Friday 26th May – Break up for half term

Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June – Half term

Monday 4th June – Back to school

Monday 26th June – Y6 Swimming lessons start today for 3 weeks.

Friday 6th July – Y5 and Y6 pupils at Newport High (transition event)

Friday 20th July – Break up for summer holidays.



Useful Links

Staff and Governor Links

Flag Counter

Site created by NHS.
Copyright © Millbrook Primary School. All rights reserved.